The Town Board typically meets the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month, at 7 PM in the conference room at the Town Hall located at 52 West Main St. Allegany, NY. Anyone wishing to address the Board must request to be added to the agenda by noon on the Tuesday before the meeting. They may do so by contacting the Town Clerk, by Email: Town Clerk or by calling 373-0120 x101. Also, check with the clerk to verify the date, time and location of the meeting.

Agendas are available two days before the meeting from the Clerk. See below.


In New York State, our towns have been organized with an elective legislative body, which is the Town Board. Our Town Board consists of a Supervisor and four Council Members and as a group, represents the executive head of the town. The Town Board as a whole serves as the executive, administrative and legislative body of the town. An individual board member may not unilaterally act on behalf of the Town Board. The Board acts as a unit and must function as a body.

Town Council Members serve a term of four years and the Supervisor's term is two years. Election of members of the Town Board is on odd numbered years, with the Council Members staggered at two-year intervals, so that the entire Board will not come up for election in the same year.

For further details visit the NY Association of Towns.

See the Town, Village, County and School Tax Rates at the Catt County Real Property Website

Cattaraugus County Office of Real Property Services

NYS OSC Town of Allegany Boards Financial Management Practices from January 1, 2009 through January 5, 2015 (pdf)

Town Board Minutes

The latest Town Board Agenda

Find the current Town Board Agenda, along with previous agendas and minutes, on the Town Board Minutes Page.

(The agenda is due two days before a Town Board Meeting, if the current one is not here contact the Town Clerk for a copy)

Town Annual Budgets

Annual Budget - January 1st through December 31st
Town of Allegany Annual Adopted Budgets

Town of Allegany 2017 Budget

To Contact Town Board Members

Contact by E-Mail:

Click on the names above their picture to send them an E-Mail

Contact by phone:

Supervisor's Phone - 716-373-0120 x 102

Town Board Members - leave a message with the Town Clerk at 716-373-0120 x 101

Town Board Members

Current Town Board

James Hitchcock (2021)
Supervisor (2 year Term)

Kathy Martin (2021) Andrew Cooper (2023) Craig Maguire (2023) Alex Nazemetz (2021)
Council (1 year of 4 year term)Council (4 year term)Council (4 year term)Council (1year of 4 year term)

Town Board Standing Committees

Union Negotiation: Craig Maguire - Alex Nazemetz

Personnel Committee: Kathy Martin - Craig Maguire

Highway Department: Kathy Martin - Andy Cooper

Recreation Department: Jim Hitchcock - Andy Cooper

Parks Department: Jim Hitchcock - Kathy Martin

Buildings, Grounds & Safety: Craig Maguire - Jim Hitchcock

Water/Sewer: Kathy Martin - Alex Nazemetz

Technology: Craig Maguire - Andy Cooper

Cemetery: Jim Hitchcock & Alex Nazemetz

Town Previous Studies

The Town Annual Budget Forms and Agenda are in Adobe Acrobat Reader (PDF) format. A free copy of Acrobat Reader may be downloaded by clicking on the following image:

Get Acrobat Reader