Frequently Asked Questions

  • Town Clerk Frequently Asked Questions
  • Town Justices Frequently Asked Questions
  • Village Court Frequently Asked Questions



    Town Clerk Frequently Asked Questions

    1.Why is there a Town and Village Government and how are they different?

    2.What do you need to license a dog? How Much?

    3.Who is on the Town Board, Zoning, and Planning Board?

    4.How do you obtain a marriage license?

    5.When are Town Board meetings?

    6.There is a dog bothering us. What should we do?



    Town Justices Frequently Asked Questions

    1.How much do I owe? Can I make payments?

    Contact Court Clerk, 716-373-3670

    2.What is the Town of Allegany Court address?

    Town of Allegany Justice Court
    PO Box 254, 3790 Birch Run Rd.
    Allegany, NY, 14706

    3.How do I contact the town justice about getting married?

    Give them a call
    • David Porter, 373-6020
    • Allan Spears, 373-3294

    4.Why do I have to pay a surcharge and why does it cost so much?

    The surcharge is mandated by New York State

    5.My license has been suspended, how can I take care of this?

    Contact the Court Clerk, 716-373-3670



    Village Court Frequently Asked Questions

    1.How much do I owe? Can I make payments?

    Contact the Village Court Clerk, 716-373-1460

    2.What is the Village of Allegany Court address?

    Village of Allegany Justice Court
    106 East Main Street
    Allegany, NY, 14706
    Court Clerk:Pam Withers
    Phone:716-373-1460

    3. I would like to get married. What do I need to do?

    Once you have set the date, you must then obtain a marriage license from the Town of Allegany Clerk, any Town Clerk, or City Clerk. The village of Allegany does not issue marriage licenses.
    There is a 24 hour waiting period before the actual ceremony can be performed. No blood test is required. The license is valid for 60 days, and is valid anywhere in New York State.

    4. Is there a fee if a judge performs the wedding?

    By law a judge may not solicit a set amount, and cannot accept more than $75.00. It is appropriate for a member of the wedding party to offer a donation to the judge of an amount not to exceed $75.00.

    5. I would like to sue someone in Small Claims Court. How do I do this?

    You must go to the Court where the person you wish to bring an action against either:
    • lives in the municipality
    • has a place of business
    • works in the jurisdiction of that court.

    Note: The amount you are suing for cannot exceed $3,000.00

    6. My tenant has not paid the rent for 3 months and I want to evict this person. What do I need to do?

    There are laws in place that protect both the landlord and the tenant.
    To begin a summary proceeding to evict a tenant for non-payment of rent, or for other reasons, is a complex legal proceeding. A court cannot assist you in this. You should contact an attorney who deals with this civil matter.

    7. Why do I have to pay a surcharge and why does it cost so much?

    The surcharge and fees are mandated by New York State

    8. My license has been suspended, how can I take care of this?

    Contact the Court Clerk, 716-373-1460

    9. I have points on my license. How can I remove them?

    A person can remove up to 4 points by attending a 6 hour defensive driving course. These courses are offered by JCC or BOCES.
    In addition to removing 4 points, you will also receive a 10% discount on your Liability and Collision coverage for a three year period. Even if you have no marks on your license, you can still take advantage of the insurance savings.